rickshawbikeindia mission

Mission

Advancing respect for diversity as a new global ethic and foundation for inclusive citizenship is the mission of the Global Centre for Pluralism.

To support this mission, the Centre:

  • fosters informed dialogue about the benefits of diversity as a global value proposition;
  • researches the drivers and impediments of civic cohesion to understand why some diverse societies thrive while others fracture or fragment; and
  • works in partnership with change leaders around the world to apply these place-based insights for practical effect.

Through these means, the Centre will serve the world community as a global destination for dialogue about the benefits and foundations of pluralism. In our increasingly interdependent world, respect for diversity and the practices that support it are not just desirable. They are vital building blocks of peace, prosperity and security for all.


Origin of the Centre

The idea for the Centre originated in the 1990s when His Highness the Aga Khan began asking Canadian leaders to explain the success of Canada’s approach to diversity. A Pluralism Initiative aimed at understanding the origins and architecture of Canadian pluralism followed. The decision to found an international institution dedicated to the advancement of pluralism worldwide emerged from this work.

In 2006, His Highness the Aga Khan and the Government of Canada formed a partnership to launch the Global Centre for Pluralism – a private, not-for-profit institution founded in Canada with a global mission to serve the world.


Vision

hishighness lafontainebaldwin2010In October 2010, His Highness the Aga Khan outlined his vision of pluralism at the LaFontaine-Baldwin Symposium in Toronto, an annual conversation on citizenship and the public good hosted by the Institute of Canadian Citizenship.

“The world we seek is not a world where difference is erased, but where difference can be a powerful force for good, helping us to fashion a new sense of cooperation and coherence in our world, and to build together a better life for all.”

His Highness the Aga Khan, 15 October 2010, Toronto

Read the speech | Listen to the podcast

You are here: Home About Us Mission

rickshawbikeindia mission

Mission

La mission du Centre mondial du pluralisme est de promouvoir le respect de la diversité en tant que nouvelle éthique mondiale et fondement de la citoyenneté inclusive.

Pour contribuer au succès de cette mission, le Centre :

  • favorise le dialogue éclairé sur les avantages de la diversité comme valeur mondiale
  • effectue des recherches sur les moteurs et les obstacles de la cohésion pour comprendre pourquoi certaines sociétés diversifiées prospèrent alors que d’autres se fracturent ou se fragmentent; et
  • travaille en partenariat avec des leaders du changement de partout dans le monde pour appliquer leurs perspectives locales à des fins pratiques.

Ainsi, le Centre sera au service de la communauté planétaire en tant que destination internationale pour le dialogue sur les avantages et les fondements du pluralisme. Dans notre monde de plus en plus interdépendant, le respect envers la diversité ainsi que les pratiques qui l’appuient ne sont pas seulement désirables; ils constituent les bases essentielles à la paix, à la prospérité et à la sécurité pour tous.


L'origine du Centre

L’idée du Centre est née dans les années 1990 lorsque Son Altesse l’Aga Khan a commencé à demander à des leaders canadiens de lui expliquer le succès de l’approche canadienne envers la diversité. Une initiative sur le pluralisme a suivi avec l’objectif de comprendre les origines et l’architecture du pluralisme canadien. La décision de fonder une institution internationale vouée à la promotion du pluralisme dans le monde est née de cette entreprise.

En 2006, Son Altesse l’Aga Khan et le gouvernement du Canada ont formé un partenariat pour inaugurer le Centre mondial du pluralisme – une institution indépendante et à but non lucratif. Établi au Canada, le Centre a une mission internationale au service du monde entier.

 


Vision

hishighness lafontainebaldwin2010En octobre 2010, Son Altesse l’Aga Khan a défini sa vision du pluralisme au Symposium LaFontaine-Baldwin à Toronto, une conversation annuelle sur la citoyenneté et le bien public organisée par l’Institut pour la citoyenneté canadienne.

« Le monde que nous cherchons n’en est pas un où la différence est effacée, mais où la différence peut être une force puissante du bien, nous aidant à acquérir une nouvelle prise de conscience sur la coopération et la cohésion dans notre monde; et pour bâtir ensemble, une meilleure vie pour tous. »
    
            Son Altesse l'Aga Khan, 15 Octobre 2010, Toronto

 Lire la conférence | Écouter la baladodiffusion (en anglais)

 

 

 

 

Vous êtes ici : Accueil À propos Mission